By Jade Bryan Jardinico
Publication Date: 2026-06-07 20:00:00
Google revamped the storage management tool in Google Photos last year with the new Free up space feature.
It automatically runs in the background, scanning your local gallery and cross-referencing it with your cloud backups.
When it verifies a match, it prompts you to delete the local files to reclaim that precious device storage.
Technically, this is the same cleanup tool that has existed for years. The major difference with the new iteration?
It proactively scans for media already backed up on Google’s servers, rather than waiting for you to trigger a sweep when the low-storage panic sets in.
For me, it meant I only had to tap the screen twice to completely overhaul my storage situation.
Sure, there is a dedicated option for deleting individual device copies. It works perfectly if you are only dealing with a handful of files, but it is entirely impractical and a nightmare for managing thousands of memories.
Even though this feature has been sitting in my app…

