Google is finally starting to roll out a new privacy-conscious feature that will allow you to clear the last 15 minutes of your search history on mobile. The Feature was announced at this year’s Google I / O, and it’s now being rolled out in the Google app for iOS. It’s not available for Android yet, but Google says it will hit the platform later this year.
In one blog entry By announcing the launch, Google reaffirmed its commitment to privacy in search. The company says it is “very interested in making sure” that you can use Google search to make important decisions and find information “safely and with the privacy you expect”. Google says that web and app activity are only used to personalize experiences and that you can view and clear your search history at any time. You can also turn on additional verification to see your account activity when you share a device with someone else. If you enable the setting, you will need to provide additional information in order to view it, such as: B. a password or a two-factor authentication.
Google also mentions that you can automatically clear your search history every 3, 18, or 36 months. It’s actually a feature that was introduced in 2019, and new accounts created after June 2020 had auto-delete turned on by default. However, if your account is older, You have to activate this option manually. There are many benefits to being able to clear the last 15 minutes of searches – from wanting to hide the stupid questions you had to ask online to just wanting to hide a few private searches. The feature will roll out on Android later in the year, but it’s admittedly a bit strange that the feature should roll out first on iOS and before Android.