The FAQ page states that WhatsApp will not delete the accounts of users who do not accept the new terms but cannot use them as normal.
“If you have not accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you will not have the full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept it. For a short time you can receive calls and notifications, but not read or send messages from the app, ”wrote WhatsApp.
“To ensure security, limit data retention and protect the privacy of our users, WhatsApp accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity,” explains WhatsApp. “Content that was saved locally on a user’s device before the account was deleted will remain until WhatsApp is deleted from the device. If a user registers for WhatsApp again on the same device, their locally stored content will be displayed again. “
“At some point we will remind people to review and accept these updates to keep using WhatsApp,” WhatsApp said.
Interestingly, WhatsApp mentioned in the announcement that it was important that people knew “how we can make WhatsApp available for free”. The company said it bills companies to provide “customer service” for the app and is engaging Facebook so companies can manage their inventory across apps.