Delete your account! Here’s how to say goodbye to Facebook forever.

Sarah Tew / CNET

People’s opinions on Facebook are mixed. For some, the social media site is an essential tool for keeping in touch with friends and family around the world, interacting with stakeholders, and getting news. But others see Facebook in terms of Data breaches, political brawls, harmful misinformation and other content that could be harmful to teenagers. now known as meta, Facebook has a new name as a company but the same old problems. Whether you want to terminate your account in 2022 or for any other reason, here are the steps to take.

how-to-tech-tips-logo-badge.png
Brett Pearce / CNET

It is important to note that there is a difference between deleting your Facebook account and deactivate it. Deactivating your Facebook account will temporarily freeze it, which is useful when you want to take a short break. But that doesn’t prevent anything the company to keep track of your online activities.

To completely disconnect from Facebook, deleting your account is the only answer. Deleting it will also break the connection to Facebook Messenger, the platform’s chat app. (If you want to Get rid of Instagram and WhatsApp, which are Facebook properties, you need to do so separately.) We explain a few things to consider before going through the process that requires time and patience.

1. Delete the Facebook app from your phone and tablet

The first step is to delete the app from your smartphone or tablet. Remember, deleting the Facebook app won’t delete your account. You can still access it through the browser and other apps may still use Facebook as a login.

Removing the icon from your phone will remove it from your eyes and mind, but it won’t change anything in your overall account. You need to make sure all of these other steps are followed or Facebook will be able to keep track of your online activity.

2. Choose a messaging or social media alternative

Data protection and security with Signal and WhatsApp messaging

There are many messaging alternatives that you can use to keep in touch with others.

James Martin / CNET

Remember, if you delete your Facebook account, your Messenger account goes with it. That said, you need to reach out to those you talk to frequently on Messenger and find out another app or messaging service use to keep in touch.

In general, do the same with your Facebook friends. Post a status a few days before deleting your account and ask anyone who wants to stay in touch to send a message with their contact details.

Facebook also gives you the option to transfer your photos, videos, notes, and posts to other websites such as Google Photos and Dropbox. Here is How to transfer Facebook data.

3. Disconnect your Facebook account from other apps and logins

Third-party providers like Spotify and DoorDash have long offered the option of using your Facebook account to log in and log into their services. It’s convenient because you don’t have to remember another password. That is, until you no longer have a Facebook account.

You need to target the external accounts that rely on your Facebook information by logging into each account and disconnecting it from your Facebook account.

To find a list of apps associated with your Facebook account:

  • Sign in to Facebook.
  • Go to ideas > Apps and websites.
  • If you’re having trouble unlinking your Facebook account from a service, contact the company’s customer service team.
Facebook app logins

Don’t lose access to apps and services that you sign in to with Facebook.

Screenshot by Jason Cipriani / CNET

Then, request and download a copy of all of your Facebook data by following the steps below:

  • Sign in to Facebook on your computer.
  • Go to ideas > Your Facebook information.
  • click outlook Next Download your information.
  • Leave all the boxes under the your information Section.
  • Leave the date range on All of my data.
  • Let them Format set to HTML – This will bring your data into an easy-to-navigate format.
  • To save high-resolution copies of photos and videos that you’ve posted on Facebook, change the Media quality Drop down from medium to high.

Then click on Create file. Facebook will then collect all of your information and send you an email when it’s ready to download. It can take some time for this to happen – it is not an instant process.

screen-shot-2021-10-06-at-1-08-57-pm.png

Download all of your Facebook data before doing anything else.

Screenshot by Katie Teague / CNET

4. Finally, it’s time to delete your Facebook account

The final step is to delete your account. In order to do this, Visit this page and sign up.

Facebook gives you a list of tasks and things to consider before deleting your account. For example, you will be asked to download all of your information, or if you are the only administrator of a Facebook Page you will be asked to give another account administrator privileges. Otherwise the page will be deleted along with your account.

All right are you ready click Deleting an account, enter your password and click Continue. Then click on Deleting an account again and done.

Delete Facebook account

Read the final advice from Facebook before deleting your account.

Screenshot by Jason Cipriani / CNET

5. You have 30 days to change your mind about Facebook

Facebook takes up to 90 days to delete all of your account information from its servers. During the first 30 days of this period you can still log in and cancel your request for deletion. Your account will be restored and it will be like you never left it. Willy-nilly.

To cancel your deletion request, visit Facebook.com, log into your account and click Delete Cancel Button.

And if you need help with the emotional side of the breakup, here are some tips on how to do it alleviate the pain of Facebook breakup. You can also check the CNET’s list of best password manager and VPN Service of the Year.

Source link

Leave a Reply