Chinese company Huawei plans to launch its Harmony operating system early next month, kicking off its efforts to go beyond the sanctions imposed by the former Trump administration. Huawei revealed its plans in a newly released video, but the company doesn’t have much to say at the moment and leaves some questions unanswered about how HarmonyOS will be made available to the public.

In its short teaser video, Huawei revealed plans to showcase HarmonyOS during an event on June 2nd. The video focuses on the company’s operating system, which is largely an operating system just a clone of Open source Android with Huawei veneer on top, but the video also briefly mentions that new products will also hit the market that day.

The event will take place at 2:00 p.m. CEST, which is 8:00 a.m. ET / 5:00 a.m. PT. It is unclear whether new smartphones with HarmonyOS will be available with this launch. We also don’t yet know if the company plans to release updates for its existing handsets and when such activities can take place.

We’ve known HarmonyOS for a few years, but it remains to be seen whether the Android clone – which will be lacking Google services – will have a material impact on Huawei’s efforts to face the 2019 US sanctions.

The sanctions followed years of growing concerns about Huawei’s alleged national security threat and possible ties with the Chinese government – allegations that have been repeatedly denied. The upcoming event on June 2nd will finally give us an in-depth look at HarmonyOS and how the company plans to go about it.

Source link

Leave a Reply