SYDNEY: Australia on Wednesday announced steps to protect dozens of sensitive technologies from foreign interference and to step up efforts to protect against “national security threats” from China and others.
Prime Minister Scott Morrison presented a list of 63 “critical technologies” to be promoted and protected – a move to limit what government, industry and universities can and cannot share with foreign counterparts. The list includes 5G communications, quantum technologies, artificial intelligence, advanced magnets, 3D printing, drones and vaccines. Items on the list are not automatically banned or banned for export, but may be subject to “additional risk management”, including measures to stop “unwanted technology transfer”.
Morrison also listed nine critical technologies that will be the focus of investments. Nuclear technology is also on the list – a clear departure for a country that has been against nuclear energy for a long time and only has one research reactor.


Source link

Leave a Reply